Category Archives: News

News and happenings from the North Dakota Building Officials’ Association.

Spring 2020 Meetings and Seminar Details

The meetings and seminars have been postponed due to the on-going COVID-19 concerns.  Updated dates and any location change will be posted here as soon as they are available.

The Spring, 2020 will be held March 25th through 27th at the Quality Inn & Suites in Jamestown, ND.  A block of rooms has been reserved so be sure to mention you’re attending the NDBOA sessions.  The schedule is as follows.  Download the full details for class information and your registration form today!  If you haven’t yet paid your dues,

Wednesday, March 25th

  • 1:00 pm – Executive Board Meeting
  • 3:00 pm – General Business Meeting

Thursday, March 26th

  • Significant changes to A117.1

Friday, March 27th

  • 2018 IBC Essentials

New Officers Sworn In

NDBOA’s new officers were sworn in at the recent meetings in Dickinson, ND. Christine Rose of Fargo is the new Past President while Shawn Ouradnik of Mandan is the new President. Lucas Olson of Fargo was sworn in as the Vice President and Todd Johnson of Wahpeton is the new Secretary/Treasurer.

Spring, 2017 Meeting and Education Details

The spring gathering for 2017 will be held March 22-24, 2017 at the Baymont Inn and Suites in Fargo.  The Executive Board and General Membership Meetings will be held on the 22nd.

Thursday, March 23rd, features not only a class on the 2015 IFC and IBC fire protection systems provisions but that evening there will be a reception for the NDBOA building officials that retired in the previous year.

Friday will focus on the legal aspects of code administration.  Lunch will be provided both days.  Details and the registration form are attached below.

Spring 2017 Seminar Info
Spring 2017 Registration

Fall, 2016 Meeting and Seminar Details

The Fall, 2016 NDBOA meetings will be held September 14-16th at the Ramada Inn in Grand Forks. The schedule will be as follows:

Wednesday September 14th, 2016
1:00 p.m. – Executive Board Meeting
3:00 p.m. – General Business Meeting

Thursday September 15th, 2016
2015 IMC Design, Installation, and Inspection Principles

Friday September 16th, 2016
2015 IFGC Design, Installation, and Inspection Principles

You can find details and the registration form below:
Fall 2016 Seminar Info
Fall 2016 Seminar Registration

NDBOA Awards Scholarships

As part of the NDBOA’s commitment to fostering a robust and knowledgeable building trade in North Dakota, they awarded their first scholarships for high school students going into a building-related field of study. Haley Hugelen and Garrett Goldader were each awarded a $1,000 scholarship in May, 2015.
Bjornson, Hugelen, and Taralson