September 18, 2013 Executive Board Meeting Minutes

September 18, 2013, Bismarck, ND

Meeting called to order by Bruce Taralson.

Roll Call: Todd Johnson, President; Bruce Taralson, Past President; Christine Rose, Vice President; Steve Johnson, Secretary/Treasurer; Ron Fettig (NW Rep); Doug Lalim (SW Rep.); Gary Klundt (SE Rep).

Absent: Darrel Zaback (At Large); Scott Boura (NE Rep);

Minutes from July 10, 2013, were distributed. Motion by Todd Johnson to approve, seconded by Ron Fettig.

Treasurer’s Report: Read by Steve J. Motion by Chris Rose to approve, seconded by Ron Fettig.

Education Committee Report: Chris Rose discussed the bills for the books for the Energy Code and IRC framing seminar in Bismarck. The spring 2014 meeting will be held in Grand Forks on April 2, 3, and 4 at the C’mon Inn.

Legislative Committee Report: Todd Johnson reported that the code adoption hearings have been completed and went well. Ray Ziegler has retired from the City of Bismarck effective September 15th. Doug Lalim may assume the position of chairman of the legislative committee if Ray Ziegler decides not to continue.

Historical Committee Report: Bruce T. reported that a retirement party will be held Thursday at the Ramada Inn with a social at 6 p.m. followed by a dinner at 6:45 p.m. Honorary memberships will be given to Richard Barta, Darrell Linnertz and Jim Waite.

Nominating Committee: At the general business meeting, Todd Johnson shall nominate Shawn Ouradnik as secretary/treasurer.

Region III Rep: Pat Parsley was not in attendance.

ICC Rep: Rick Hauffe will discuss items at the general membership meeting.

State of ND Rep: Bruce Hagen stated the code adoption hearings have been completed with a January 1st 2014 effective date for the State Building Code. Bruce said that there has been a request for mechanical training and testing for residential contractors and inspectors. There will be no cost for the training which will last 3-4 hours.

Old Business:
A. Bismarck topics are the Energy Code update and IRC framing.

B. The 2014 spring seminar will be in Grand Forks on April 2, 3, and 4 at the C’mon Inn. Topics will be Assembly and Institutional occupancies for the 2012 IBC. Jay Woodward will be the instructor.

C. The 2014 fall meeting will be held in Fargo, on September 10, 11 and 12 at the Doublewood Inn. Possible topics will be Accessibility and Administrative issues but will be determined at a later date. The 2015 spring meeting was discussed, to be held in the western region in possibly Williston or Dickinson.

D. Membership dues and seminar forms were discussed. The mailing went out with no problems.

E. Chris Rose will be distributing blinki pins at the seminars.

F. $500 each was contributed to the Region III ICC meet and greet hospitality group and the New Jersey ICC Chapter.

New Business:
A. ND State Building Code Advisory Committee Members. Todd Johnson reported that the code adoption hearings were held. There will no change to the Energy Code.

B. The NDBOA SW Executive Representative will be Doug Lalim of Mandan.

C. Committee Updates: Committee members will be updated to add Bruce Taralson to the Nominating Committee and Doug Lalim and Brady Blaskowski to the Legislative Committee.

D. The website will be updated with information and photos from the Bismarck meeting.

E. A retirement dinner for honorary members Rich Barta, Darrel Linnertz, and James Waite will be at the Ramada Inn on September 19, 2013, at 6 p.m.

F. Mechanical licensing. Darrel Z. and Bill Mobray will be updating the committee.

G. A new projector has been purchased for seminar training.

H. ICC annual business meeting attendees will be Todd Johnson, Chris Rose and Shawn Ouradnik. There was discussion about someone attending a high school informational training session at the ICC meeting in New Jersey.

I. ICC Board of Directors candidate support. The NDBOA will stay neutral in regard to supporting candidates for the ICC Board of Directors.

Adjournment: Motion by Todd Johnson. seconded by Chris Rose.


Steve Johnson